Jarman.Bone Fires.BIG.jpg
Titles 1998-2018

Bone Fires, Mark Jarman


Bone Fires: New and Selected Poems by Mark Jarman, collects work from over 30 years and charts his spiritual development as he grows from a poet of childhood and nostalgia to a poet of adulthood and the struggle of faith. Bone Fires is a landmark collection by one of our nation's most distinguished poets.

For a classroom-ready reader's guide written by the author himself, follow this link, and explore more titles with reader's guides in Sarabande in Education

Add To Cart
Jarman.Bone Fires.BIG.jpg

Additional Info

Mark Jarman is the author of nine books of poetry: North Sea (1978), The Rote Walker (1981), Far and Away (1985), The Black Riviera (1990), Iris (1992),  Questions for Ecclesiastes (1997), Unholy Sonnets (2000), To the Green Man (2004), and Epistles (2007). He has also published two collections of his prose, The Secret of Poetry (2000) and Body and Soul: Essays on Poetry (2001). Jarman is an elector of the American Poets' Corner at the Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine in New York City. His awards include a Joseph Henry Jackson Award for his poetry, grants from the National Endowment for the Arts in poetry, and a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowship in poetry. His book, The Black Riviera, won the 1991 Poets' Prize. Questions for Ecclesiastes won the 1998 Lenore Marshall Poetry prize from the Academy of American Poets and The Nation magazine. He is Centennial Professor of English at Vanderbilt University.