Sarabande Books is a nonprofit literary press founded in Louisville, Kentucky. Established in 1994 to champion poetry, fiction, and essay, we are committed to creating lasting editions that honor exceptional writing. With over two hundred titles in print, we have earned a dedicated readership and a national reputation as a publisher of diverse forms and innovative voices. Through our internship program, Sarabande Writing Labs program, and Flo Gault Student Poetry Prize, we are proud to invest in emerging writers and serve as an educational resource locally and nationally.

Sarabande publishes ten to twelve books each year, including selections for the Mary McCarthy prize in fiction, the Kathryn A. Morton prize in poetry, and the Linda Bruckheimer Series in Kentucky Literature. Sarabande authors have won or been short-listed for, among many others, the Pulitzer Prize, National Book Critics Circle Award, the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, the National Jewish Book Award, LA Times Book Prize, Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award, Lambda Literary awards, Story Prize Spotlight award, and several PEN/American honors, including the PEN/Hemingway. 


Sarah Gorham, Editor-in-Chief

Kristen Miller, Managing Editor

Danika Isdahl, Production Manager

Joanna Englert, Director of Marketing and Publicity

Natalie Wollenzien, Administrative Assistant


Clare Hagan

Board of Directors

Sarah Gorham, President
Editor-in-Chief, Sarabande Books

Jeffrey Skinner, Chair
Retired Professor of Creative Writing, University of Louisville

David Anderson, Director
Professor of African-American Literature, University of Louisville

John Brooks, Director
Artist and Gallerist
Curator at Quappi Projects

Jamie Cox, Director
Vice Cox & Townsend

Bert Emke, Director
Retired reporter, Courier Journal

Karen Marple Long, Director
Retired Attorney
YUM! Brands

Kathryn Luttner, Director
Senior Editor, Corporate Communications YUM! Brands

Kristen Miller
Staff Representative, Sarabande Books

Kathy Stearman
International Business & Operations Development Executive
Retired FBI Special Agent

Board of Advisors

Stephanie Burt
Poet, Critic
Faculty, Harvard University

John D’Agata
Professor, University of Iowa Nonfiction Program

Stephen Gault
Developer, Gault Associates

Louise Glück
Professor, Williams College

Nan Graham
Senior Editor and Vice President, Scribner

Richard Howorth
Owner, Square Books
Former President, American Booksellers Association, Mayor, City of Oxford MS

Margo Jefferson
Writer and Professor

Rafay Khalid
Financial Consultant, Global Lit, Inc.

Nana Lampton
Executive Director, American Life Insurance Company

Ada Limón
Series Editor, Black Sheep Reading Series
Kentucky Women’s Writers Conference

Bobbie Ann Mason
Fiction Writer



Phillip & Teri Allen, Jeannette & Waleed Bahouth, Karen Lyons Barnes, Brooke & Matthew Barzun, Emily Bingham & Stephen Reily, Edward & Nina Bonnie, Lisa Brown & Daniel Handler, Georgia Delano, Bert & Jane Emke, Friesens Printing Company, Stephen C. Gault, Bill & Gail Gorham, Sarah Gorham & Jeffrey Skinner, Martha Slaughter, Nancy Graham, Fred & Maryhelen Greaves, Susan Griffin & Douglas Sharps, Nancy & Stephen Haiman, Reverend Helen Jones & Thomas Pike, Lloyd Kelly & Jackie Strange, Nana Lampton, Snowy Owl Foundation, Inc., Dan & Pam Landrum, Al Lyons, James & Leslie Millar, Joanne Oldham, Elizabeth R. Rea, Dungannon Foundation, Bob & Felice Sachs, Kate Rudd Sarfin, Lori Kay Scott, Reverend Alfred Shands, Alice & Walker Stites, Judith Taylor, Murray and Grace Nissman Foundation, Carla Wallace, James & Marianne Welch


Anonymous Individual, Anonymous Foundation, Brown-Forman, Jerry & Linda Bruckheimer, Flo & Stanley Gault, Kentucky Arts Council, National Autonomous University of Mexico, National Endowment for the Arts, Target, Amazon Literary Partnership


Anonymous Individual (3), 21C Museum Hotel, Jeanne Donovan Fisher, The Green Building, Gill & Augusta Holland, Stock Yards Bank & Trust


Anonymous Individual (3), The Louise & Ardé Bulova Fund, Consortium Book Sales & Distribution, Jamie Cox, Stites & Harbison, Georgia & Laura Delano & The New York Community Trust, Julius Friedman, Magnolia Photo Booth Company, Stephen Irwin, Rowland Miller, Alice & Eduard Minas, David & Wendy Novak, Laura Skinner, Elizabeth Spalding, James & Marianne Welch, The Murray & Grace Nissman Foundation


Beth & Edward Adler, Anonymous Individual, Anonymous Individual (in memory of Max Steele), Cornelia W. Bonnie, Garvin & Steffanie Brown, Vennita Cantrell, Bob Celli & Laura Delano, Jane S. Comer, Julie Comer, Employees of American Life (in honor of Nana Lampton), Sandra Anne Frazier, Jason K. Friedman, Nancy & Stephen Haiman, MacKenzie Haley, William Kistler, Phil & Susan Lynch, Joanne Oldham, Rafael Pelli & Kate Walbert, Letitia Quesenberry, Betty & Stanley Sheinbaum


Phillip Allen, David Anderson, Daniel Delano, James Finnegan, Charles Graham, Randy Isdahl, Forrest and Mary Julia Kuhn, Leslie McGrath-Taylor, Simone Muench, Dorris Skinner, Doreen and Gary Wissig


Anonymous Individual, Annette Allen and Osborne Wiggins, Abraham Associates, S. P. Auerbach, John and Pat Banks, Andrea Barrett, Thomas Bigelow, Jeff and Lynn Calahan, Bill and Sandra Carroll, Neil Chethik, Steven Cramer, Billie Day (in honor of Nancy Graham and in Memory of Peggy Gorham and Georgia and Bill Delano), George Dick, Vanessa Dickinson, Michael Earl (in honor of Billl Gorham), Lovisa Ermelino, Lewis and IngridGentry, Nan Graham, Amy Gustine, Becky Hagenston, Muriel Handmaker, Marvin Hoffman, Steven and Julie Schaper Horowitz, Rosemarie R. Howe, Pat Hyland at Hyland Insurance, Kristen Kearloy, Dorothy and X. J. Kennedy, Fran Lewis (in memory of Philip Levine), James Logenbach, Erin McGraw, Robert Miller, Suzanne Mitchell, Kathleen Patterson, Brian and Molly Pollock, Boo Poulin (in memory of Al Poulin), David Rocklin, Sharon D. Solwitz, Michael Taekens, Jacquelyn Thomas, Patricia Vigderman, Mike Waldrige, Cia White, Orme Wilson, Orme Wilson III, Charles Wright, 


Karen Abrams, Jennifer Ackerman, Joe Arterberry, Merle Bachman, Rick Barot, Melissa T. Barnett, Jeffrey Bean, Bonnie Beck, Elizabeth Bernstrom and Greg Henes, Edith Bingham, Anthony Blake, John P. Bogley, Joy Carew (in memory of Jan Carew), Michael Cosper, Kathryn Cristopherson, John Cummins, Morgan Ecklund, Lynell Edwards, Eileen Fitzpatrick, Jason Friedman, Alice Fulton, Alan Golding, Busy Graham, John Graham, Patrica Grossman, Chris Helvey, Sally Hunter, Louisville It Mom, Mark Jarman, James Kimbrel, Jonathan Lee, Libby Lenz, Bette Levy, Andrea Lewis, Cleopatra Mathis, Gail Mazur, Molly McGee, Elizabeth McLean, Elizabeth McLean, Wendy Mnookin, Kent Nelson, Tony O'Keefe, Kathleen Ossip, April Ossmann, Patricia Owen, Kiki Petrosino, Emil and Patricia Polak, Kristen Radtke, Martha Rhodes, Charles Sarasohn, Lauren Shapiro, S. R. Spanyer, John Sparks, Cora Jane Spiller, Donna Thompson, Kim Umbarger, Joyce Van Wagoner, G. C. Walchep, Daly Walker, Bonnie and James Warner, Saskia Warren, Marta Weber, Barbara West, Joshua Wheeler, Susan Wheeler